Go Home! Welcome to Beijing!
Welcome What't new General Information Organization Preliminary Registration Publications
Satellite Conference Mails and Messages Local Information Tours Sponsors FAQ
What's ICM2002?
ICM History
What's IMU?
ICM Prize
Fields Medal
Previous Winners
About CMS
Mathematics In China
Mathematics Institutes in Beijing
Fields Medal Prize Winners (1994)

On August 3, 1994, during the Opening Ceremonies for ICM-94 in Zurich, four Fields Medals and the Nevanlinna Prize were presented. David Mumford of Harvard University, chair of the Fields Medal Committee and vice-president of the International Mathematical Union (IMU), called the medalists to the stage. ICM Honorary President Beno Eckmann, founder of the Mathematical Research Institute at the ETH and former IMU secretary presented the medals. The Nevanlinna Prize Committee Chair Jacques-Louis Lions of Collège de France presented that prize.


  • Jean Bourgain of the Institut des Hautes Ètudes Scientifiques and Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (now at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton);

  • Pierre-Louis Lions of CEREMADE, Université de Paris-Dauphine;

  • Jean-Christophe Yoccoz of Université de Paris-Sud (Orsay); and

  • Efim I. Zelmanov of the University of Wisconsin at Madison (now at the University of Chicago).


This document has been reproduced from

The Website of International Congress of Mathematicians, Berlin 1998.

Albers, Donald J.; Alexanderson, G. L.; Reid, Constance:
International mathematical congresses. An illustrated history 1893 - 1986
Rev. ed. including ICM 1986. Springer-Verlag, New York, 1986

with friendly permission from Springer Verlag

2000 © Copyright by Chinese Mathematical Society. All Rights Reserved